Sharon Kaplan Scott Gustafson, President

SG PragueSharon served as 19th President of the International Council of Jewish Women (ICJW) from May 2010 – 2014. Previously Sharon served on the National Executive Committee and Board of Directors of NCJW-USA. This led her into ICJW, its global umbrella organization, where she became Treasurer from 2002 until 2010. Since completing her term as president, she has been instrumental in setting up the Friends of ICJW Foundation, Inc. to support the ongoing work of ICJW around the world.

Sharon has always been actively involved with the issues of civil and human rights, especially those affecting women and families. She served on the Boards of Directors of the Bureau of Jewish Education, the Jewish Community Federation and the Home for Jewish Aged in Rochester, New York, and as Vice-President of the Women’s Division of the Jewish Community Federation of San José, CA, where she now lives. A Vassar College graduate, Sharon worked as Director of Personnel for the Planned Parenthood organization in Rochester, New York, and later as Director of Corporate Services for Deltanet Inc. in San Francisco.

Anne F. Oppenheimer, Director & Treasurer
Anne is an engaged activist in the Jewish community and has served as a volunteer and advocate on many organizational development and child care issues. Anne recently served as Treasurer of the International Council of Jewish Women (ICJW) and has served the NCJW in various national and local capacities since 1984. She is involved with the Jewish Community Relations Council and was a regional representative to the American Israel Public Affairs Committee (AIPAC). She is currently a member of the Jewish Federations of North America’s Health and Long-Term Care Committee, a JFNA Ambassador to local Federations, and sits on the Chicago area board of the American Jewish Committee. Anne is a graduate of the University of Louisville, and resides in Chicago, Illinois.

Donna R. Gary, Director
Donna has served as ICJW Vice-President for the USA, North American Regional Chair, Treasurer, and Chair of the Constitution Committee. Donna is also involved with NCJW as Honorary Vice President, having served as Vice President and National Treasurer and chaired the Washington Institute. She has represented NCJW at White House Briefings and many other national and Jewish events, including testifying on their behalf before Congress and the Federal Drug Administration. She received their prestigious NCJW Hanna G. Solomon Award and is Honorary President of her local Northern Virginia Section. Donna chaired the national board of the Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice and the board of City of Peace, a teen conflict resolution theater group. In addition to her lifelong volunteer work, Donna worked as the Director of Pension Plans and Services for a holding company and all of its subsidiaries.

Kathy Altman, Director
Kathy served on the National Board of NCJW-USA and on NCJW-USA’s Israel Granting Committee for many years.  She worked for the late Representative Bob Edgar in the United States Congress for 12 years and subsequently in the Executive Office at Common Cause, an NGO focused on transparency in government. Kathy currently works at the Generic Pharmaceutical Association in Washington, DC.

Marjorie Weiser, Director
Marge is a community volunteer with experience as a special education teacher and professional fundraiser. She is on the Board of Trustees of the International Council of Jewish Women and co-chairs their Development Committee. She is an Honorary Vice President of the National Council of Jewish Women, where she also served as Treasurer. She has been President of the Minneapolis NCJW Section and received the Hannah G. Solomon Award for her years of contribution. She recently completed her term as Vice President of the Board of Trustees of the Walker Art Center. She has also served as Vice Chair of the Board of Children’s Home Society of Minnesota and was involved with the Penumbra Theater and the Minnesota Childcare Association.